Daily Prompt

Having had Stage I Breast Cancer three years ago, I chose to do a double mastectomy.  Later, I was confronted by a friend who was encountering the same diagnosis.  Her lump, like mine, was in the early stages.  Unlike, my situation, she was given the choice of having a mastectomy or a lumpectomy.  After weighing out her options, she chose the latter treatment.  She had no Breast Cancer history in her family and did the genetic BRAC test, which came back negative.  I did not tell her until after her procedure that, given her circumstances, I was so glad she chose to do the lumpectomy.  I would never recommend any of my friends to go through having  a double mastectomy unless they were faced at a dead end wall like me (having a family history of BC).  I know the choice is a personal one, but if you don’t have to go through it, why do it????

Leave a Reply

